Brunch Book Club: December Wrap-Up!

bbc_dec14header

The first Brunch Book Club of 2015 for the last read of 2014 took place a few Sundays ago with a return to The Kennedy Public House which we enjoyed earlier last year. Jenn & I, joined by a full group which included Wendy, Rhiannon (and baby Sybil), Andie, Ardo, Chandra & Leah. As with our #BrunchBC brunches, our only rule is that you don’t care about spoilers. Feel free to join us for some yummy food if you don’t care that at least Jenn & I will be talking about the book – and that is exactly what some of our pals did! That being said, this is the obligatory SPOILER WARNING as it is a discussion post.

The general overall consensus was that we liked it. Personally, I was surprised just how much I liked it and that I hadn’t read it until now. It was pretty much split half & half with those who had read it and those who hadn’t but we had enjoyed it. There was a bit of discussion on the future of it after the second novel now which is a shame because I really love the concept of it. I laughed with the group that I had really taken a liking to Owen and while I was surprised at what he turned out to be, I thought Hah. Of course. Surprise surprise I would fall for the bad boy. And that being said, I liked that the one that was made to “look” like the stereotypical bad boy wasn’t. We all agreed the awesomeness that Schwab actually called him Guy-liner.

We talked about the idea of the dead being shelved away and how, while heartbreaking as it was during the Ben scene, that it’s true – they’re not themselves anymore and it may be hard for those who are grieving to accept that. As for the Dr. Who fans in our group, they all admired Roland’s style and look being reminiscent of David Tennant’s version of the Doctor – right down to the sneakers. And speaking of the librarians, it had taken some of us by surprise to find out that they were already dead but of COURSE they are. It just makes sense with their whole not-aging keeper-of-the-dead gig.

The downside of having procrastinated on writing this recap for a few weeks is that I’ve forgotten some of what we talked about. That being said, we were also very distracted with the delicious food and excitement of going to see Benedict Cumberbatch in The Imitation Game afterwards. (Which is amazing btw.)

jallsig

Leave a reply